ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and its coalition partners have nominated Raja Pervaiz Ashraf for the post of prime minister on Friday, 22-06-12.
During press briefing, MQM’s Haider Abbas Rizivi and ANP’s Afrasiab Khattak, senior PPP leader Khurshid Shah made the announcement Raja Pervaiz Ashraf as PM candidate.
Previously, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf was the covering candidate for former PPP frontrunner Makhdoom Shahabuddin whose name was later dropped due to his involvement in the Ephedrine scandal case and the ANF issued warrant for his arrest.
Apart from Ashraf and Shahabuddin, Qamar Zaman Kaira from the PPP, Maulana Fazlur Rehman from the JUI-F and Mehtab Abbasi from the PML-N had filed their nomination papers.
The next prime minister of Pakistan will be selected during the National Assembly session which has been convened today in the evening.